

Commission Work Session Minutes Monday, May 16, 2022

Commission President Bob Iyall called the Commission Work Session of May 16, 2022 to order at 2:30 p.m. at the Percival Plaza, Olympics Room, in Olympia, Washington.

Present:

Commissioners: Bob Iyall, President; Amy Evans, Vice President; and Joe Downing, Secretary.

<u>Staff</u>: Sam Gibboney, Executive Director; Rick Hughes, Port General Counsel; Rudy Rudolph, Operations Director; Matt Peach, Finance Director; Aletia Alvarez, Capital Assets Senior Manager; Jennie Foglia-Jones, Senior Manager Communications and Government Affairs; Jessie Bensley, Property Manager/Lease Administrator; and Missy Goodell, Executive and Commission Coordinator.

<u>Guests</u>: Ramiro Chavez, Thurston County Manager; Amos Callender and Ron Thomas from Thomas Architecture Services; and Bill McGregor, Former Commissioner.

Public: Three attendees.

Five-Member Commission Ballot Proposition

Ramino Chavez, Manager at Thurston County, provided background information related to a proposed 5-Member Commission. Executive Director Gibboney also shared next steps.

The Commission asked questions and discussed aspects of this potential change in commission.

Destination Waterfront Update

Executive Director Gibboney presented information as a refresher of the planning done to date and catalyst for Commission input on continuing the development of the Destination Waterfront project.

Amos Callender and Ron Thomas of Thomas Architect Studio (TAS), contracted by the Port of Olympia, provided an in-depth presentation.

Executive Session

The Work Session was recessed at 4:05 pm to convene into an executive session to address the performance of an employee (RCW 42.30.110(1)(g)). The executive session concluded at 5:05 pm with no action taken or decisions made.

Commissioner lyall reconvened the meeting at 5:07 pm, announced the above regarding the Executive Session.

Adjournment

The Work Session adjourned at 5:07 pm.

Commission Work Session May 16, 2022

PORT OF OLYMPIA COMMISSION

Bob Iyall c 4, 2022 13:14 PST) Bob Ivall

President, Bob Iyall

Amy Evans Harding Amy Evans Harding (Nov 28, 2022 08:16 PST)

Vice President, Amy Evans

<u>J Downing</u> J Downing (Jan 21, 2023 08:57 PST)

Secretary, Joe Downing